WK 6 – Artist Conversation – Sheila Garrett Rodriguez

Exhibition Information

Artist: Sheila Garrett Rodriguez

Exhibition: Were We Even Here

Media: Installation with Mixed Media and  Embroidery

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: sheilagarrettrodriguez.com

Instagram: sheilagarrettrodriguez

About the Artist

Sheila Garrett Rodriguez graduated from the School of Art’s Fiber Program here at CSULB. She has obtained a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts in Drawing and Painting. Before attending graduate school she started with embroidery and ended up really liking it. This was one of the reasons in which she decided to attend graduate school and receive her Master’s of Fine Arts in Fiber. She shared that she got her many creative ideas from her experience of moving 30 times throughout her life.

Formal Analysis

Her exhibition, Were We Even Here is an installation created from a mixture of  media and embroidery. She used abstract items from homes and embedded embroidery that stood out with its vibrant colors. The items were furniture and other materials. All of the items contains some form of embroidery.

Content Analysis

Rodriguez based her piece,Were We Even Here on her memories of the houses she has lived in. She stated that she has moved 30 times and that each home was different; she made different connections with each household. I really enjoyed this piece because of the flowers and the vibrant colors incorporated. These flowers are mostly depicted in Mexican culture, which she portrays to symbolize where she’s coming from.

Synthesis

This exhibition was very interesting because I always saw furniture as just furniture with no deeper meaning. I’ve lived in my house for 10 years now, but before that I lived in a garage, and even before that we lived in my grandpa’s house in Mexico. I’ve had different memories in each home, some impact our lives more than others. I don’t like going into my grandpa’s house anymore because my grandma died on her wheelchair in the living room, and the house feels so dead without her. I close my eyes, if I ever have to step foot in that house, and I try to picture and think of the happy memories and times we had when my grandma was still around.

Leave a Reply

