WK 7 – Artist Conversation – Dulce Soledad Ibarra

img_6323

Exhibition Information

Artist: Dulce Soledad Ibarra

Exhibition: Manos De Oro

Media: Mixed Media Installation

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: dulcesoledadibarra.com

 

About the Artist

Twenty-five year old, Dulce Soledad Ibarra, is from Chino, California and is currently attending Cal State Long Beach, and living in Long Beach as well. She is an undergraduate student in the School of Arts Sculpture Program at Cal State Long Beach. Before her decision to major in Sculpturing, she wanted to study Graphic Design and Communications. Prior to CSULB, Dulce attended Chaffey College where she received her AA degree.

Formal Analysis

Manos de Oro, was an installation with mixed media. Ibarra used various gardening equipment and machines, and projected a video including her father as well to put her message across. The machines and the equipment are covered in gold, and they appeared very shiny. Most of them were on the floor, but she had a lot of them hanging on the walls as well. There were patches of turf under the machines, as well as in front of the projection which gave it a grassy appearance. There were also grass and leaves where the video was projecting.

Content Analysis

Manos De Oro depicts that everyone’s hands are made of gold aside from the type of work they do. Her hard working father inspired her her artwork. Her father is an immigrant who migrated from Mexico to the US to search for a better opportunity for himself and his family. Dulce mentioned that she was embarrassed that her father was a gardener when she was younger. She later learned to value everything that her father did for her and she later illustrated through the video all the types of work that he did.

Synthesis

I really enjoy going to the Art Galleries because I connect with most of the artists for the most part. My father and myself are both immigrants but I’ve been here since I was a child so I don’t really know the struggles that my father went through. When my father came to the United States, he already had a job waiting for him because my uncle was already over here. I noticed that nothing stopped my father, and he did all of this to create a better future for me and my family. I would and still caress my father’s hands; which are rough even though I try to rub them with lotion. I ask him “Papi porque tus manos están tan rasposas”, and he replies that he would rather have his hands like that, than for ours to look like that.

 

Leave a Reply

